The Antipodean Budget Reply Process

Friday, May 11, 2012.

Our Antipodean Budget Process
Has rules as in the game of chess.
Tradition says he must make The Reply.
Can Tony do it and not tell a lie?

Could he perhaps have more success
By starting his speech with,  “I confess
That unlike Swannie I’m no Grand Master.”
That might help him avoid disaster.

A compliment or two would show finesse,
Would help his image in the press.
But he and Joe, his chief fact checker,
Think it’s better to be a wrecker.

Aussies just don’t care for politesse.
He knows that!  The best way to impress?
To shout and rant about the carbon tax!
It hurts us all!      Who cares about the facts!

This is also a chance for him to obsess
About scandals and slime and Labor’s excess.
Slipper and Thomson!  They’ve helped by stealth
To destroy Australia and steal our wealth!

Yeah!   That should work, but nevertheless,
Tony does regret the need for full day dress.
He’s spent hours with Joe and number jugglers,
If he could only wear his budget speech smugglers!

NOTES:     First I must acknowledge Alan Moir and his kind permission for me to use his hilarious,  but oh so apt,  interpretation of Tony Abbott’s Delivery of his Speech in Reply.  http://www.smh.com.au/photogallery/opinion/cartoons/alan-moir-20090907-fdxk.html?selectedImage=0 .  He also said he “loved the verse!”
Last night’s Budget Reply Speech from Tony Abbott left me dumbfounded.  I went to various other sites and found a silence which I think spoke of the same wordless horror that I felt.   An act of contempt had been performed on our public stage.   Other people clearly felt something similar.   No one had much to say.   I usually deal with my rage at Abbott’s excesses with a bit of light verse and part of me regretted that I had already used the metaphor of Budget Smugglers and published it here,  since I just did not want to write anything new about Tony Abbott at all.
Then this morning I woke up to find that Alan Moir, as so often,  had said it all for me.  This time the metaphor was chess, and when it comes to running our country’s economy, then Wayne Swann is a Grand Master.   Tony Abbott doesn’t stand a chance against the World’s Best Treasurer.  And he knows it.   And doesn’t it make him mad!
Besides Alan Moir’s cartoon there is now other very good  commentary and criticism on Abbott’s reply speech I have been reading today.  Probably the earliest, was an article by Stephen Koukoulas. economist, writing that same evening to put Abbott straight on some of the few economy related references he did make.   There are also two excellent critical analyses at The Political Sword – the first by regular contributor, NormanK, and the other by Blogmaster, Ad Astra.  Let’s hope that our mainstream media pick up the many failings in this travesty of oratary in weekend editions.
COMMENTS:

jane,     11/05/12,   Great pome as usual, patricia.  I didn’t watch Liealot’s farce. You only need to watch their ABC to get the gist.

BSA Bob,    11/05/2,     “Wordless horror” nails it for me. I usually get angry when Abbott’s on but I felt pretty numb during this, sort of resigned.  From his first sentence it was all obvious, just talk at top speed to get as many talking points as possible in.   I must say I was taken by Julie Bishop’s feigned laughter at Abbott’s “witticisms”. A serial loyalist there.

Min,     11/05/12,   That ‘s wonderful.  Love that line..can Tony do it and not tell a lie.

Miglo,     11;05/12,     Brilliant.

Pip,     11/05/12,     Wordless horror indeed patricia. and Bob.  “Budget Smugglers” gave the journalists nothing except the foreign language idea, and today the former PM and Foreign Minister is onto him.

nasking,     11/05/12,    Top stuff Patricia.   Poem, political cartoon, comment…all spot on!

About patriciawa

http://polliepomes.wordpress.com/about-patriciawa/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

